News & Events
Current Appraiser Staff News
The field appraiser staff are working on the annual 17% re-inspection process. The Property Valuation Department of the State of Kansas requires us to re-inspect each parcel once every six years. We are and will be conducting inspections on 17% of the county again this year. This amounts to approximately 6,500 parcels. This inspection process includes data collection on: residential, vacant, agricultural, multi-family, and commercial properties.
All Reno County field appraisers can be identified with a Reno County photo ID badge and are driving clearly marked Reno County vehicles. Property owners with questions may contact the Reno County Appraisers Office at 620-694-2915.
Home Values in Reno County
Sales of both new and existing homes in Reno County show that property values have remained stable to trending upward from 2016 to 2017, depending on the area. All sales were processed and analyzed. A determination was made as to whether or not each sale was an arm’s length transaction. All sales that were determined to be arm’s length transactions were used to assist in the valuation of residential properties in Reno County.
Commercial Values in Reno County
Mirroring residential properties, commercial values remained stable to trending upward for 2016 to 2017, depending on property type and area. Information from investment properties was collected to allow Reno County to use the Income Approach in conjunction with the Cost Approach in valuation of commercial properties.
Kansas law requires owners of tangible personal property to report it annually to the county appraiser on or before March 15th of each year. Penalties are applied to late filings at the rate of 5% per month up to 25%. Failure to file will result in a 50% penalty. If you have not yet filed for this year, it is not too late to avoid further penalty. To avoid penalties, personal property must be reported to the Reno County Appraiser’s Office within 30 days of purchase.
- If you own personal property located in Reno County but, you reside elsewhere, property must still be reported in Reno County.
- All-terrain vehicles (ATV’s), golf carts and watercraft do not require registration but, are taxable. To avoid penalties, ATV’s, golf carts, and watercraft must be reported to the Reno County Appraiser’s Office within 30 days of purchase.
- Personal property trailers are also taxable and need to be reported to the County Appraiser.
- Oil and Gas renditions must be submitted to the county appraiser by April 1 of each year.
Change in Value Notices
The 2017 Change in Value Notices will be mailed by March 1, 2017. Real property is appraised at market value as it exists on the first day of January each year. However, land devoted to agricultural use is valued at use value and not market value.
Appeal of Values
Kansas Statute 79-1448 states "Any taxpayer may complain or appeal to the county appraiser from the classification or appraisal of the taxpayer's property by giving notice to the county appraiser within 30 days subsequent to the date of mailing of the valuation notice...". The latest date to file an informal appeal of your property valuation is within 30 days of the post-mark on the envelope the Change in Value Notice was sent in. If you do not appeal within this 30 day window, you may still appeal your valuation by making a Payment Under Protest at the time taxes are due. This may be done by filing a protest with the Reno County Treasurer at the time payment is made.